Obiji lifts gold No 5 for Nigeria

Nigeria’s 82.50kg power-lifter, Loveline Obiji proved that wining gold could be so lovely, after she outclassed her opponents to increase Nigeria’s medal tally here at the London 2012 Paralympics.

Loveline Obiji of Nigeria reacts to the spectators following her gold medal lift in the women’s 82.50kg Powerlifting on Day 6 of the London 2012 Paralympic Games at ExCeL.

Team Nigeria’s gold spinning machine was temporarily off the mark after a bright start. But Obiji put behind all the pressure associated with the controversial loss by compatriot, Folashade Olufemiayo on Tuesday and made a spectacle at the London Excel Centre.  She heaved 145kg in her second attempt and for her, it was mission accomplished.

“After establishing that lead, I knew that the gold was mine. I told God that I wanted gold and he gave it to me. I wasn’t under any pressure because I knew who was behind me.

“Now that the work has been done I will return home and prepare for the 2016 Paralympics,” said the Imo State-born athlete who is making her Paralympics debut.

Randa Mahmood of Egypt took the silver at 140kg, while China’s Xu Yanmei won bronze with 129kg.

The power-lifting events continue today with the men taking their turn in the hunt for medals.     Nigerian officials are hopeful that Nigeria will maintain its number one position on the power-lifting medals table. The country has won five gold, five silver and one bronze.

By Ben Efe, London

vanguard

2 thoughts on “Obiji lifts gold No 5 for Nigeria”

  1. Excellent goods from you, man. I have take note your stuff previous to and you’re simply too fantastic. I really like what you’ve got here, really like what you’re saying and the best way in which you are saying it. You are making it enjoyable and you still care for to stay it sensible. I can not wait to read far more from you. That is actually a great web site.

    Like

Leave a comment